Online Journalism: Fall 2010

Icon

Just another WordPress.com site

Group Work: Data & Audience reports

All three of these sites live and die by the data they can collect. Whether it’s street signs, urban farms, or gluten-free locations, there is data and information that is crucial to your audience. How are you going to collect that data, in a way that’s going to be sustainable and achievable? What methods can you use? Where can you turn online? Where can you turn in the real world? Explain what your primary data is, what it consists of, and how you collect it and maintain it.

Also, all of your sites facilitate the obsessions of your users, but in different ways. You need to be able to engage with them in a way that will keep them coming back and will create the core discussions you want to foster. Who are the people that are coming to your site–-no more ifs, who are they really and what do they do when they get on there, how do they interact with each other, and what value do they add to the site and does the site add for them? What keeps them engaged and coming back?

Answer these two questions fully and completely in a report to be turned in next week. All of your team members must sign this report.

PS. Don’t forget your Twitter report and your deep dive!

Filed under: Homework

One Response

  1. Nick Myers says:

    Here is my report on my Twitter experience.

    I found Twitter to be a lot of fun and very useful tool for keeping up with friends and websites/news sources. One of the things I quickly realized is that while it is a great source of information, it is most effective when it is used on a mobile device or if you are in front of a computer throughout the day. I do not have a smart phone and may only be on my computer a few minutes a day (especially weekends) to check email and the like. I found if I had not checked my Twitter for awhile that the messages would pile up and I’d be frantically reading over them and trying to catch up with what people had posted, replying to posts and re-Tweeting certain posts.

    I think Twitter is an extremely useful tool for journalists in the online age as I find that a lot of what good news sources do is not always original material, but making the user on their site aware of information on other sites via links. Twitter’s of-the-moment turnaround time (and use of shorted links) can get information distributed lightning fast to anyone who’s following. It seems like one of the fastest methods of information distribution around. Especially when you have those receiving the Tweets, then re-Tweeting them and on and on. I can imagine certain news stories becoming a phenomena on Twitter due to users passing the info on.

    I found I was able to learn about many new stories or events through Twitter I may not have known about previously. This was helped, in part, by my selection of who/what to follow, so that my interests were reflected in the Tweets I received.

    Twitter will become more commonplace for more and more people as mobile devices become the norm. With this in mind, it is an essential tool with which journalists should become familiar and engaged.

    I found in my Twitter experience (which I will continue to use) that a lot of what I was reading and responding to was my friends posts, as these were often the most prevalent among Tweets I received, but am sure if I took it from a more journalistic perspective (or if I was using Twitter in a work setting) that I would be Tweeting and re-Tweeting from more news-oriented sources.

    Overall, it was a good experience and I am glad I was able to get an idea of what Twitter is all about. As I said, I think I will continue using this form of social media.

Leave a Reply

Other links about Online Journalism

